AxoNet Software GmbH

Lights-Out - Green IT for Windows Server Solutions

by AxoNet Software GmbH

Lights-Out - Green IT for Windows Server Solutions has an overall rating of 5 stars  from 34 customers.

Submit A Review

The views and opinions submitted and expressed here are not those of Microsoft.

Pays for itself

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:milleron Reviewed on:6/20/2014

Pros
It works in the background and definitely saves me money. That's why the price seems so reasonable. I actually put a Kill-A-Watt meter on my headless Windows Home Server and found that it was costing me over US$90/year in electricity. Lights-Out Green IT has reduced that cost by >50%. ANY application you run that has to run a mixture of computers on a network (MS and Apple, Win 7 and Win 8), is going to have some problems with that witch's brew. That's not the developer's fault. So, the best thing about this software is the extremely rapid response the company always makes to inquiries on the WeGotServed forum. It's so much better than email because it amounts to a searchable database of FAQs, and in case your question isn't answered simply be searching the forum, they post the answer within a day. In my experience, they almost always give the definitive solution to every problem on their first reply.
Cons
It could be a little easier to configure, but it's not bad, even in this area.
Additional Comments
If they charged 5 times the current asking price, this software would still pay for itself in a short time. Fortunately for us, it's very inexpensive
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 4.5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 4.5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

perfect addon for Home Server

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:rg1987 Reviewed on:1/12/2014

Pros
I used it with WHS2003, WHS2011, WS2012 Essentials and WS2012 R2 Essentials, absolutly no problems. Runs smooth, very good price performance ratio. Fast response for any support questions.
Cons
nothing
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Absolutely invaluable addition to any Windows Server environment

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:MKorndoerfer Reviewed on:12/31/2013

Pros
We're using WSE 2012 in a small company environment. Lights Out is one of the single most important addition to the already good MS Windows environment, since it allows me to have full control over the up-time of all our systems, even when I'm out in the field. Please keep up the great work!
Cons
It doesn't brew coffee... For now :)
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Light Out software for Windows Home Server

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:KevinE Reviewed on:11/27/2013

Pros
Very clean, useful software for a WHS user.
Cons
Nothing
Additional Comments
Martin provides EXCELLENT support. Well recommended!
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Must Have Add-in

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Rychek426 Reviewed on:10/25/2013

Pros
I love the ease of use and utility of this add-in. Support is prompt and high value as well.
Cons
Nothing.
  • Price 4.5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Excellend Add-In for power saving needs!

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Jussi_Palo Reviewed on:9/12/2013

Pros
Don't feel comfortable keeping my home server on when I'm not home. With Lights Out, I can keep the server running when my mobile phone is connected to home wifi, and put the server to Sleep when I leave home. Server again wakes when I come back home (simple automated WOL, not related to Lights Out).
Cons
Some versions have had performance issues and have used too much CPU, but issues have been quickly fixed in following versions of LO.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 4

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

LightsOut - Super Software, Service & Support

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:MichaelU Reviewed on:6/25/2013

Pros
Saves energy without compromising performance Installation is quick and simple User manual is direct and to the point. I should have consulted it before asking for support! Reliable - does just what it says. Windows 8 version an unexpected bonus
Cons
Nothing
Additional Comments
I have used all three versions of LightsOut now. All have met my needs as regards energy saving and remote access. On a couple of occasions I have needed some support. On both, Martin's reply has been well-directed and arrived very quickly. In my experience, networks are notoriously fickle; Martin has designed his software and support to make things as simple as possible for the end-user - an example to us all.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 4.5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Just perfect!

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:JoanAngel Reviewed on:6/12/2013

Pros
Easy to install in 2012 Essentials fully integrated with remote Access web site it really allows you safe money
Cons
Nothing, just what we need
Additional Comments
Now for less of the previous Price (when server always connected), now I can Access the office using remote access, wake up any PC or server, and control it with RDP.. simply superb!
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Excellent product

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Fred_Deiss Reviewed on:5/30/2013

Pros
Easy installation, good support, works the way it is supposed to. Have used it on WHS v1 and WHS 2011
Cons
Nothing
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Terrific Product - Great Support

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:ForestMajors Reviewed on:5/3/2013

Pros
Have used Lights-Out since Vail.. also used the software in WHS 2011 and now in Windows Server 2012 Essentials. Works well for scheduling the Server and scheduling the backups for the client computers.
Cons
Upgrade process lacked finesse on transition to the latest version - until I installed the release candidate as recommend by their support - which is very responsive.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 4.5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

LightsOut

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:NOLB1 Reviewed on:3/7/2013

Pros
Excellent product. It just works. Server is on when it is needed, off when it isn't. Perfect. It even updates the clients
Cons
nothing so far
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 4.5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Excellent Customer Service

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Arco123 Reviewed on:3/3/2013

Pros
Excellent add in. More importantly the customer service has been first class. I had to do a server recovery and didnt have my licence file... Customer support verified my licence info and sent me a new licence file within 15 minutes, on a Sunday afternoon!
Cons
nothing so far
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Lights-Out is a perfect companion

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Madlec Reviewed on:2/26/2013

Pros
It is a perfect addin to help keeping the cost of running a home server to a minimum. This has allowed me to stow the server away and have it wake and sleep with no interaction from me, apart from turning the computer I want to use on. Very easy to set up, and having the option to monitor IP based clients, I dont have to have a PC on to be able to keep the server on for my tablet.
Cons
I can not find fault with this tool. It has more than met my needs.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Light-Outs is a Must!

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:RobertMN Reviewed on:2/14/2013

Pros
It works perfect for my set up at home. The server auto turns off if devices on my network turn off such as macbook and xbox.
Cons
N/A
Additional Comments
I was having issues getting my xbox to work with Lights out and Martin was able to quickly help me out! The support and over all product are excellent. If you have WHS you must get this application. Plus it saves you money. :)
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

LightsOut

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:ErrorCode62 Reviewed on:1/6/2013

Pros
This is an example of a software being developed by someone who knows what they're doing to fulfil a specific niche which it does beautifully. Wake on LAN (WOL) is one of those technologies which promises to be useful - if you can understand the detail. Lights-Out provides a means of easily and quickly configuring a machine and using a graphical interface to understand what's going on. Over the years there has been consistent development to incorporate user feedback, and a comprehensive user manual has been developed for those niggling little problems that don't fit into the main stream. Heartily recommend it for those that feel uncomfortable leaving the servers and PCs on continually, and need a simple application to turn on and off machines automatically and appropriately.
Cons
sometimes the OEM implementation isn't consistent with WOL ore just doesn't quite want to work with lights out so you end up spending a fair bit of time chasing down the problem.
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4.5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Lightsout is a must

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:PFabrice Reviewed on:12/21/2012

Pros
I don't want my Home Server to be on all the time: 17:00-23:00 is good for me. I need my Home Server to take care of backuping all my home PCs. Lightsout does it all. Easy to install and just works.
Cons
Nothing for the moment.
  • Price 4.5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4.5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

100% of 1 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Should have been in the product

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:JesperRuneLarsen Reviewed on:12/19/2012

Pros
It really works. I have had my problems with getting WOL and hibernation to work on my homemade server, but Lights-Out just works. Fantastic. Extremely flexible in how you can schedule when to flick the switch of the server.
Cons
I miss an easy way to see what causes the server to wake up outside of a schedule. I would also like some sort of e-mail notification subscription.
Additional Comments
Highly recommended. Anybody with a home server should have this.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Lights out v1 on Home Server -- GREAT Product and Great Support

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:Pentop Reviewed on:12/2/2012

Pros
This program met a core need not provided by the WHS software. I am very impressed that the developer continues to add support for the latest technologies, such as Win 8 support on a deprecated OS.
Cons
Would like a self-updater, but I think this is a limitation of WHS instead of the program itself. I can't fault the programmer if this is so.
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 4

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Lights Out-Customer support

  • 3.0
  • Overall Rating 3 stars

Reviewed by:Justanothercustomer636 Reviewed on:11/27/2012

Pros
The advertisments, it was supposed to do everything I wanted, but the server never went down when scheduled and it never came up when schedule. I found it was my interpretation of the instructions, I'm just a Home user not an IT Professional.
Cons
The PDF instructions, most word processors I use have a scroll bar on the side so I can go to the bottom of the page, not this PDF. I wanted to report it to Tech support, no tech support either, they finally opened a "forum" to post question, I'm still trying to get past the security question to register an account, it keeps telling me to try again to copy the words as shown. Then if the client is still ON when the server is scheduled to go down, the server just goes ON/OFF constantly until the power is cut.
Additional Comments
There has been two patches to this so far, and it still doesn't work consistantly, the only good thing is it was not expensive to get a license.
  • Price 3
  • Deployment Time 3
  • Needs Met 3
  • Compatibility 3
  • Performance 3

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Lights-Out Rocks!

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:JimmyJoeJeffWalker Reviewed on:10/28/2012

Pros
An excellent solution to help keep my WHS2011 server awake when it's needed. Also a great tool for managing computer power usage throughout my network.
Cons
No complaints related to the software. Looking forward to future mobile client platform releases.
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Excellent app.

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Krakonosh Reviewed on:10/17/2012

Pros
This app does exactly what it suppose to, it's well laid out and very intuitive.
Cons
nothing
Additional Comments
support behind this great app is top notch, very fast to respond and very accommodating. Thanks.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

If you only want one add-in this is the one

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:DavedUK Reviewed on:10/14/2012

Pros
Simple to set-up and use and well documented. Even in areas where my server couldn't use the application's 'plan A', 'plan B' was also documented.
Cons
Nil.
Additional Comments
You can try for a trial period before deciding to buy a licence and the free licence has nearly all the best functionality.
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Excellent Product & Great Service

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Mdgo Reviewed on:10/2/2012

Pros
I don't need my Homeserver on all the time, and Lights Out came to the rescue. With LO add in on my WHS V1, I can put the WHS to sleep during night time and wake up automatically during day time.
Cons
N/A
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 4.5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

WHS2011 Lights Out Add-in

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:PaulMcDonald Reviewed on:9/13/2012

Pros
I used this add-in for WHSR1 and it was very stable, I really like the way the WHS2011 version is integrated into the WHS. This add-in is reliable and saves power
Cons
Nil
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 4.5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Lights Out - Outstanding support

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:SkydiveDude Reviewed on:8/27/2012

Pros
This is software that truly does what it claims, making the configuration of a home server much more user friendly, and energy efficient.
Cons
There is nothing not to like
Additional Comments
Having had a few niggles in the set up of the software, due to my computer confiuguration, I hasten to add, I posted on the We Got Served Lights Out forum, and received after sales support from Tinus. He was patient, and extremely thorough, giving plain advice, and resolved my issues through the forum. I have to say that I can think of no other software that I have previously purchased where I have received such a personable, and thorough after sales support service. This is truly software that you can buy with confidence.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

WHS 2011 Lights Out

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Ozpol Reviewed on:7/27/2012

Pros
Lights out has been one of the main reasons that I am running WHS 2011. the program has been running faultlessly for the past 12 months. For most users, running a server 24/7 is really not necessary. With Lightsout my server is running about 20% of the time. Always starts up with PCs as programmed. Without hesitation, probably one of the best pieces of software that I have purchased.
Cons
Nothing that I can really think about.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

100% of 1 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

excellent program

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:b23h Reviewed on:7/8/2012

Pros
I have owned Lights-Out for both WHS v.1 and WHS 2011. It is an excellent program which once configured allows for the server to go to sleep and to wake on demand.
Cons
Disabling SBCore manually in WHS v.1
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 4
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

An Essential Add In

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Manny_Carvalho Reviewed on:6/10/2012

Pros
Martin wrote an addin that MS should have been part of the original WHS. It works exactly as stated and excellent support.
Cons
Nothing.
Additional Comments
I'd suggest that MS include this in WHS but heck, what's the point really. WHS is pretty much dead anyway. But those of you that still use WHS and WHS 2011 this addin is well worth the money.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 4.5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Lights Out review

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Spile Reviewed on:5/20/2012

Pros
Continually under development. The author is always on hand to support the application.
Cons
Nothing
Additional Comments
A great way to reduce your electricity bills and make the world a little greener.
  • Price 4.5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4.5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

100% of 1 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

An Essential Add-On

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:gcoupe Reviewed on:5/19/2012

Pros
It does what is says on the tin - provides energy management functions for your PC clients and for WHS 2011. I've been using it since the days of WHS v1. It's an excellent product, well supported, and a model of what an Add-on should be.
Cons
I have no complaints whatsoever.
Additional Comments
Other WHS Add-on suppliers could learn a lot from this software. How it should be done and how it should be supported. It's the leader of the pack at the moment.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 4.5
  • Needs Met 4.5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Absolute Necessity

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:nickoates Reviewed on:5/17/2012

Pros
Does exactly what it was designed to do with nothing to complicate the user experience.
Cons
Absolutely nothing.
Additional Comments
Product is extremely straightforward to use and gives peace of mind knowing that you don't have to keep the server running 24/7. The ability to control the server when away from the local network is an added bonus (now that I have remote wake-up working). Support from the author is above first class, he passes on his expert knowledge whenever it is needed - (much appreciated Tinus). Couldn't recommend it or him more highly.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Lights-Out is a WHS Necessity

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Rychek Reviewed on:5/15/2012

Pros
The uptime chart and network sleep/wake controls are an awesome tool.
Cons
Can't change the colors of each system's bar in the uptime chart.
Additional Comments
I don't use all of the functionality contained within Lights-Out, but I feel blind managing my network without it.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 1 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Lights-Out, A must have

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:whosinaname Reviewed on:5/15/2012

Pros
I first used this add in with V1 of whs, and now with WHS 2011. I really don't like having my server on all the time. at least 8 hours a day I am away at work, and even low power servers suck up electricity. Being able to sleep, but still wake when needed, and staying awake while I stream movies by monitoring the IP of my devices (xbox, wdtv live) is great. Lights-out has so many features you just have to try it to believe it.
Cons
I cant think of a single thing I don't like. This add in is great.
Additional Comments
Support is wonderful. Tinus on We Got Served answers any and all questions and goes above and beyond to help any who need it. It is the kind of support I wish all software developers would give. Kudos!
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Kein Plan

  • 4.0
  • Overall Rating 4 stars

Reviewed by:Mschmittka Reviewed on:5/13/2012

Pros
Waru gibt es das nicht auf Deutsch
Cons
Will es testen
  • Price 4.5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 3.5
  • Compatibility 2.5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Submit A Review

The views and opinions submitted and expressed here are not those of Microsoft.