Layer 2 GmbH

Business Data List Connector for SharePoint Data Integration

by Layer 2 GmbH

Business Data List Connector for SharePoint Data Integration has an overall rating of 4.5 stars  from 45 customers.

Submit A Review

The views and opinions submitted and expressed here are not those of Microsoft.

BDLC

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:BryanJones Reviewed on:6/18/2014

Pros
Everything works great. Must-have for any SharePoint environment. Essentially gives SharePoint list functionality to any data.
Cons
Nothing.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Layer2 Business Data List Connector for SharePoint

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:MarkBlankenburg Reviewed on:4/24/2014

Pros
Integration is extremely easy and assistance from Layer2 was outstanding. All of my questions were answered and I had the application installed and running in a few minutes. The Layer2 Business Data List Connector for SharePoint works wonderfully, I have used it in 2010 and currently 2013 environments. By far the best external list Connector available.
Cons
Nothing.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Review BDLC 5.0

  • 4.0
  • Overall Rating 4 stars

Reviewed by:TejasKatke Reviewed on:4/7/2014

Pros
It is easy to install. Can run workflows on SharePoint list and it supports datasheet view too.
Cons
Couldn't use it for large data (more than 500 thousand items)
Additional Comments
The initial idea was to use BDLC for large amounts of data. I could not test BDLC evaluation version on large data as it supports just 25 items. After purchasing the license it was disappointing to realize that BDLC could not help us with the large data.
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 2
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 4

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Great Idea, easy to use...

  • 4.0
  • Overall Rating 4 stars

Reviewed by:patm300e Reviewed on:1/30/2014

Pros
Ease of use.
Cons
Installation did not work for us, had to install manually.
Additional Comments
Customer Service through Layer2 is great even though they are in Germany and I am in US.
  • Price 3
  • Deployment Time 2.5
  • Needs Met 4
  • Compatibility 4.5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

BDLC Review

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:dgroberman Reviewed on:1/28/2014

Pros
1. Ability to easily connect to various data sources. 2. CRUD - Create / Update / Delete functionality 3. Error Reporting 4. Ability to test with free Shareware Edition
Cons
1. A license is required for every single server. If you have a farm, the product is pretty expensive. 2. Very complicated buying procedure - order service USA company does not grant any discount, even provided by Layer2. For overseas transaction need to pay foreign fee.
Additional Comments
Very good customer support.
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4.5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 4.5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Very useful

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:TheDeveloperGuy Reviewed on:12/17/2013

Pros
I've been able to connect to legacy systems that just didn't work with BCS. It allows me to use SharePoint as a modern UI for older systems and sidedoor fixes. I've also used it to bring large amounts of data into SharePoint so that it can be indexed by search.
Cons
Lack of support for BLOBS. The ability to see the progress of a query and what operations are going on under the covers would be handy. For example is it doing a full reload or is it able to take advantage of the keys.
  • Price 3.5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 4.5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

BDLC is a great tool

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:RobertGy Reviewed on:10/5/2013

Pros
I was looking for a tool that allows displaying an SQL table directly on Sharepoint which shows it in a table format where any row can be easily accessed and edited. I wanted to search on any data also. Sharepoint does not contain such out of the box, the sharepoint list does not allow table layout with edit mode. I was lucky to find the BDLC list which makes the trick. We have deployed it quickly and we have all the functionality we would ever need.
Cons
The initial load of a bigger table (above 50000 rows) is very slow.
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 3

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Flexable Product - Very Helpful Support

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:LarryPreheim Reviewed on:9/26/2013

Pros
The software allows you to couple SharePoint's flexible presentation capabilities with a relational databases' correlation and extraction mechanism without learning the ins and outs of .Net. I am looking at both this product Layer 2's Cloud connect for different applications. BDLC allowed me to put together a page for my boss so he could actually choose the data he wanted to see and line it up the way he wanted to see it. It allows me to literally turn out a custom view of the database in a few minutes.
Cons
Nothing. It saved me a boat load of time.
Additional Comments
The folks there are very helpful and responsive to questions. You are going to enjoy working with them.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4.5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Great product

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:HenriS Reviewed on:9/21/2013

Pros
The ease of use, very quick deployment and condfiguration, incredible flexibility in terms of data sources.
Cons
Basically nothing
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Very stable and good product in addition to fast service

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Bjarte Reviewed on:8/15/2013

Pros
Easy to use and deploy. Supports many connectors. Up and running in very short time.
Cons
N/A
Additional Comments
Had a problem and the answer with the solution was given in under 5 minutes.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Fantastic product for connecting lists to databases

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Darren_Thorley Reviewed on:7/22/2013

Pros
It does exactly what it says it will do with no fuss and hassle. The recent improvements such as alerting when a list update fails make this the perfect product for connecting SharePoint to databases. Awesome.
Cons
Nothing - it is all good.
  • Price 4.5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Layer 2 Business Data List Connector

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:MReeves Reviewed on:7/1/2013

Pros
This product makes connecting to databases outside SharePoint a breeze. We were up and going in a matter of minutes.
Cons
Nothing at this time.
  • Price 4.5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Fantastic value, solid product

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:JackRowe Reviewed on:6/21/2013

Pros
As an SMB having the ability to use a front end tool like BDLC to connect to our ERP database has outstanding value, allowing us to use SharePoint's easy to configure and powerful workflow tools and list alerts to run on ERP data to perform actions that would normally take an external product expert hours to develop costing thousands in fees. So easy to install and configure, is a must have for any company with sharepoint
Cons
No dislikes at all
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Phenomenally useful

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Greg_Deckler Reviewed on:3/14/2013

Pros
As a consultant, this tool solves a number of challenges that I frequently encounter in the course of creating solutions for customers. The ability to surface business data into SharePoint with full list functionality or leverage SharePoint's default CRUD capabilities but have the data stored in a true relation database cuts the time required to create solutions for customers and does not leave behind complex code that is difficult to support.
Cons
We really have not run into anything that we particularly do not like.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Cuts Development Time

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:tsantmire Reviewed on:3/7/2013

Pros
Helped us cut development time for user interface to add/edit data in a SQL database
Cons
Nothing
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

works as advertised

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:jtravisc Reviewed on:2/18/2013

Pros
BDLC simplified outputting results from SharePoint Learning Kit.
Cons
Lack of automated update options to pull current data. I'm sure it is possible but there is not a quick and dirty way to have data auto update during non peak hours.
  • Price 3
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

BDLC

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:JensNielsen Reviewed on:11/19/2012

Pros
BDLC enables me to connect datasources to our Sharepoint Foundation installation. It is relatively easy to configure and when it is set up it just works.
Cons
Configuring is relatively simple - probably even simpler if you are more familier with the sources you want to connect to. For a non-programmer it's a bit demanding.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4
  • Compatibility 4
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Sr. SharePoint Administrator

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:GreatWest Reviewed on:9/13/2012

Pros
Ease of use. No major configuration, creation of connections or anything like that. Just install and it works. I was able to create a connection to a test MSSQL db in a matter of minutes, including updating. Very nice product.
Cons
Nothing.
Additional Comments
Our shop tries very hard to go with OTB solutions. After racking up an outragous amount of costs in custom SharePoint solutions a few years ago, the order came down - OTB ONLY. As a SharePoint admin I was able to create a connection without code and in only a matter of minutes. One of our custom sites took a couple of weeks for the coder to create the custom connection and ability to retreive and send data to one of our data base systems. This is fast, easy, and inexpensive.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 4.5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

BDLC seems like the perfect solution

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:JeffSmothers Reviewed on:9/12/2012

Pros
Installation was quick and easy. Our back end admin told us to feel free to buy any products from Layer2. The write-back capabilities and timer job worked perfectly. Duplicated a table and set up a sync schedule in just a few minutes.
Cons
Nothing at this point
Additional Comments
We used the secure store for Windows authentication. I had a little trouble getting everything configured initially for it, but the team responded quickly to emails and provided the assistance that we needed.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 4.5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Amazing Product

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:mounty95 Reviewed on:8/10/2012

Pros
The entire process from evaluation through purchase and install of licensing key was seamless. The product worked "out of the box." No tweaks or adjustments were needed.
Cons
None.
Additional Comments
Great product. I look forward to it helping me with my list deployments in the future.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 4.5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Exactly what we were looking for

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:RealJourneys Reviewed on:6/3/2012

Pros
Easy to install the evaluation. Worked as advertised. Purchase was easy. Licence file arrived same day.
Cons
No dislikes.
Additional Comments
I needed something that would expose SQL tables in SharePoint and allow edits and updates in either SQL or SharePoint to propogate to the other reliably. After implementing the bdlcGuid best practice advice I believe we've achieved this.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Perfect Solution!

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Hex4ne Reviewed on:5/30/2012

Pros
We ran into a lot of issues with the standard BCS services that come out of the box with SharePoint 2010... we wanted a real list! Not a crippled one! With this solution, changes are made behind the scenes and the user never knows it while still giving all the advantages of a SharePoint list. Perfect!
Cons
I am just not seeing any short comings at the moment... hopefully this will continue to be supported down the road, because it should be a standard piece of anyone's arsenal!
Additional Comments
The support and setup was crazy great. All I had to do was drop a license file in a directory on the server and it worked... no other configuration needed! Franke, you got this down man!
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Layer2 BDLC - it works straight out of the box

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:TekResponse Reviewed on:5/1/2012

Pros
Easy to deploy; much easier to use and more functionality than the standard in-built tool in SharePoint
Cons
Haven't used it in anger yet to be able to provide more thorough feedback
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Great Product, Great Service

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:agrothe Reviewed on:4/20/2012

Pros
Great product! Used in many ways. The Active Directory integration is a great feature.
Cons
Nothing to dislike.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Layer2 BDLC works great for us

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:AndyBradleyii Reviewed on:3/20/2012

Pros
We have had success in using this to connect and pull data out of some Excel files that are created from various reporting tools. Allows us to gather our data in one common reporting interface - SharePoint.
Cons
We have seen some issues in the past with the auto-update timer freezing but these seem to all be fixed in the newest version for 2010.
Additional Comments
Support has been great - they are very responsive and have helped us thru a few problems. Very easy to contact via e-mail.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Has Blown up on me

  • 3.5
  • Overall Rating 3.5 stars

Reviewed by:Chris_pivotel_com_au Reviewed on:1/23/2012

Pros
I liked the fat that it seemed it would be a great connector to our existing MySQL DB application and to enable us to do writebacks to MySQL from SharePoint.
Cons
So far I have been battling a few issues that have meant that I cannot connect to perform any writeback at all for a table that I have made customizations to the column types. Now it's throwing SQL errors on a brandnew table that I have created to try fix the old one. The older table being already deleted now. I'm very frustrated that once you edit/change a column that was created by BLDC it just breaks and there is seemingly no online support manuals etc to aid a fix. The Date functions are seemingly not compatible, maybe I'm doing something wrong.
Additional Comments
I'm working on 2 very simple critical tools that I convinced the CEO to spend $2k on this tool and I'm getting further and further from the goal now with no fix in sight.
  • Price 3.5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 3.5
  • Compatibility 2.5
  • Performance 3

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Great tool!

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:SAVACO Reviewed on:1/18/2012

Pros
It allows us to easily integrate business applications with SharePoint. The great benefit is that you don't loose any list functionalities and the setup is very fast.
Cons
Per list it's not possible to write-back to more than 1 table.
  • Price 3.5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 3.5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

The BDLC for SharePoint is Great!!

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:Benito_Lieuw_A_Soe Reviewed on:12/1/2011

Pros
The BDLC gives me a great method to sync information with SharePoint lists. Now that it can also be used in the cloud, makes it much more interesting.
Cons
I would like to see much more options with scheduling the synchronisation.
Additional Comments
The customer support is very good and prompt, and information and knowledgebase can easily be accessed from the website.
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 4
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

What BCS Should Be

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:JohnnyO_Alb Reviewed on:11/1/2011

Pros
Idiot-proof product, very well designed. Simple to install and deploy, works as advertised. Love it.
Cons
One very minor limitation - if it generates a GUID for you, it has to post back to the same column name ([bdlcGUID]) in every SQL table. Easy workaround in InfoPath forms, though.
Additional Comments
Makes you wonder why BCS is so limited?
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

CFO/CIO

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:G_Meeks Reviewed on:11/1/2011

Pros
It met our needs perfectly using Sharepoint Foundation 2010, rather than having to upgrade to Sharepoint Enterprise. Mixing enterprise data (ERP, CRM and others) within a real sharepoint list with additional sharepoint fields solved some key data integration and visibility problems for us and now allows many users to live in Sharepoint rather than trying to find information across multiple systems.
Cons
Nothing. Works as advertised.
Additional Comments
Technical support has been very responsive as well, even on an issue or two that really were from our limited sharepoint knowledge rather than issues with BDLC. They helped us get through those also.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 4.5
  • Performance 4.5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

brilliant product

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Maher_Yousef Reviewed on:10/17/2011

Pros
brilliant product, easy to install, easy to cinfigure, and works just as it shoud.
Cons
nothing
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Well designed product, works great

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:Sarada_Mohapatra Reviewed on:8/26/2011

Pros
1. Simple to install & use 2. Fast & efficient (replicates data from External source). I have an AS400 across the WAN replicating data once a day. 3. Preserves List Features (unlike the limitations of OOTB External Data List)
Cons
None so far.
Additional Comments
1. Would like to see parameters in the Select statement. Would leave implementation details to Layer2. 2. The username/password are in plain text. So had to change List Permissions to have users as 'Contributors' or 'Visitors' - most of my users are 'Designers' as part of empowering everyone.
  • Price 3.5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4.5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 4.5

100% of 1 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Very Useful Product

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:BobbyBeckner Reviewed on:8/3/2011

Pros
It's easy to install, does everything for you, and is dependable.
Cons
Nothing. It's great. It would be cool if there was an option for it to notify of updates to the tool and download them for you, however.
Additional Comments
Worked with Layer2 on an issue we had with this tool. They worked closely with us over a few weeks time and had the issue resolved. Their technical support staff are dependable.
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Trial

  • 3.0
  • Overall Rating 3 stars

Reviewed by:TimLisko Reviewed on:8/3/2011

Pros
Very easy to install
Cons
Didn't exactly meet my needs. In addition, when cancelling out of the list creation, it took an inordinate amount of time for Sharepoint to process the cancellation.
Additional Comments
I only tested connecting to an Exchange Server, unsuccessfully. A permissions setup on the server was probably needed,but even were I successful it would achieve what I really wanted to do.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 1
  • Compatibility 4.5
  • Performance 0.5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Excellent Product - Works exactly as described.

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:BenJPollard Reviewed on:8/2/2011

Pros
The application was extremely easy to install. Even with our very limited SharePoint experience we were able configure and use it without much trouble. When we ran into problems (due primarily to our inexperience), tech support was able to fix all of them. They went out of their way to verify everything worked and that we were satisfied with the product. The program works exactly as described, and has not crashed or caused any errors. We highly recommend it.
Cons
Nothing.
Additional Comments
We needed to monitor a frequently updated, external database in order to both populate a SharePoint list and initiate workflows. As SharePoint's BCS is extremely limited, we were forced to contact outside programmers who provided a quote of ~$10k. Fortunately, we stumbled upon the Layer2 BDLC which essentially made it possible to directly interface SP2010 with our external database.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Great tool

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:MaximoZambrano Reviewed on:7/29/2011

Pros
Very simple to install and set up, works as advertised
Cons
Nothing to dislike, it works very well
Additional Comments
I'd like to have a log for every sync update.
  • Price 4.5
  • Deployment Time 4.5
  • Needs Met 4.5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Great Tool!

  • 4.0
  • Overall Rating 4 stars

Reviewed by:shatch Reviewed on:7/11/2011

Pros
Great tool for anyone looking to pull data from other sources fast and easy. The list integration is suprisingly easy and did exactly as discribed. A must have for anyone looking for something other than the built in tools of SharePoint.
Cons
.
  • Price 3.5
  • Deployment Time 4.5
  • Needs Met 4
  • Compatibility 3.5
  • Performance 3.5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

What BCS should have been like...

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:gluvnaful Reviewed on:4/7/2011

Pros
The best part about Layer2.de's BDLC is it's straightforward, code-free integration with multiple database types. Solution deployment, connection string setup, column creation and validation, and a read/write flag - it's almost too simple. This connector provides a mechanism for integrating business data into SharePoint's powerful viewing and workflow capabilities in the simplest possible way. Background updates, item-level delta changes, and read/write capability allow developers and power users to make full use of the SharePoint object model for line of business data and fields with less if not any code. We have used this product to enable enterprise, data-driven taxonomy through the content type hub. We have delivered time-saving custom solutions for business process, dashboarding, and alerting as well. I highly recommend the BDLC to any SharePoint development group or shop.
Cons
This product has been extremely useful from a solution delivery standpoint, and functional for the business as well.
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 4
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

100% of 1 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

This is what I am looking for!

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:EricHuang2011 Reviewed on:1/12/2011

Pros
This product is a must have stuff for every SharePoint guy who want to integrate list with back-end systems. Easy to install and setup. What I have done is to define a IBM AS/400 database table on a SharePoint 2010 list, then I can keep them sync with BDLC timer job. It even provides the CRUD(Create, Update and Delete) functionality on SharePoint list item edit UI, then the results will sync to IBM AS/400 source table immediately. Since it works fine as expected, this let me interested to do more testing like SharePoint list Alert and Item Event Receiver(Item Updated), etc. Guess what? If we update the source database table on IBM AS/400, when timer job completed(intervals set by central administration site), We can see the result updated on SharePoint list, the mail and diagnostic log entry write by Item Event Receiver. Fantastic!
Cons
Currently, none!
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 4
  • Performance 4

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Works as advertised!

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:pr0t01 Reviewed on:9/30/2010

Pros
It's done everything I've asked of it, and the sales team has been great to work with. It's so easy to make a quick connection and populate a list! This has been a real time-saver for me as a SharePoint admin, and it has allowed me to create some really useful lists and calendars for my users.
Cons
I've only been using it a few weeks so I haven't run into any problems, or reached that point where I can start making constructive criticisms. So far it's been pretty flawless.
  • Price 3
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Great Product!

  • 4.0
  • Overall Rating 4 stars

Reviewed by:stan66777 Reviewed on:4/26/2010

Pros
The Business Data List Connector (BDLC) product is fantastic! The ability to connect to virtually any 3rd party data source and work with that data in a native SharePoint list has been quite valuable to us.
Cons
The only downside to the BDLC at this point is the inability to write back to the data source. Looking forward to the addition of that feature in a future release.
  • Price 3.5
  • Deployment Time 4
  • Needs Met 4.5
  • Compatibility 4
  • Performance 4

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Simple and Fast

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:SharePointAdmin Reviewed on:3/22/2010

Pros
It's really easy to use! Much better than the BDC!
Cons
I miss the update functionality, but they've said it'll come soon.
Additional Comments
Keep up the good work!
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Simply the best!

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Aramsco Reviewed on:3/17/2010

Pros
Simplicity, speed, feature set
Cons
Price
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

BDLC 1.6 Review

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:BinniSkariah Reviewed on:3/15/2010

Pros
Functionality of tool was 100% exact as per description. Ease of setup and use. Ability to connect to various ODBC data sources.
Cons
Have to create new site versus convert exising one. Would like to be able to have function to send email on timer job updates.
Additional Comments
Email support has been spot on.
  • Price 3
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 4
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Layer2 BDLC - Flexible and easy to configure

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:ian_trott01 Reviewed on:3/15/2010

Pros
Rapid deployment (single solution file), very easy to configure and good support. We were after a quick and simple solution to allow the retrieval of data from various data sources without resorting to the BDC - this fits the bill perfectly!
Cons
Nothing as yet! :o)
  • Price 4.5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 4.5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Submit A Review

The views and opinions submitted and expressed here are not those of Microsoft.