Layer 2 GmbH

Cloud Connector for Office 365 and SharePoint 2010 / 2013 - Data Integration & Migration

by Layer 2 GmbH

Cloud Connector for Office 365 and SharePoint 2010 / 2013 - Data Integration & Migration has an overall rating of 4.5 stars  from 20 customers.

Submit A Review

The views and opinions submitted and expressed here are not those of Microsoft.

A more than excellent tool to synchronize your information across systems!

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:Cadac_Organice_ISV Reviewed on:7/9/2014

Pros
This tool is easy to install and relatively easy to configure. After that it just runs in the background and synchronizes data back and forth according to the connections you have defined. It couldn't be more easy than that. And that's a big plus for this tool. We use the tool to synchronize multiple database tables to SharePoint 2010 back and forth and from the get go it worked flawlessly. The questions that arose during our evaluation of the tool were always answers swiftly and correctly.
Cons
It takes some time to setup the connections properly. Also determining the correct keys to synchronize information from database tables to SharePoint and back takes some 'tinkering'. But the tool isn't to blame for that.
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 4

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Does what is says on the tin

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Joe_Feinstein Reviewed on:5/20/2014

Pros
Cloud Connector is a perfect tool to meet the needs of a workforce that is heavily divided between predominantly mobile users who rely on Sharepoint & deskbound office staff who largely prefer working directly on network file shares. It allowed us to meet our business needs without extensive retraining of existing staff.
Cons
A few of the text labels in the management console don't display seem to honor the language locale of the local computer. Other than that, no complaints.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Layer2 Cloud Connector for Office365 is a winner!

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Thomas-Jones Reviewed on:3/14/2014

Pros
Was extremely simple to configure data sources and retrieve data from local database and transfer to office 365 SharePoint site
Cons
authentication issues with Office 365 (not Layer 2s issue)
Additional Comments
would recommend this product to anyone with local data that needs to be sent to SharePoint cloud
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Efficient and effective

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:AImbruglio Reviewed on:2/12/2014

Pros
Simple and easy to set up and install. Once you have your connection strings set up, it just does its thing without any attention or effort needed, except an occasional glance at the log files to make sure nothing's gone wrong with a network connection somewhere. Support is quick to respond and knowledgeable. Program seems 100% reliable so far!
Cons
A couple of useful (at least for my deployment scenario) features that aren't yet in the program, but support was quick to respond to suggestions and has said they will look into adding them in a new release. Synchronization speed is not quite as fast as I had hoped it would be, but should be sufficient for quite a while.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 4.5
  • Needs Met 4.5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 4

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Cloud Connector

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:MichaelTrankjaer Reviewed on:12/20/2013

Pros
It's very easy to configure and use, easy to deploy. The software is simple to use even for endusers.
Cons
We faced some mapping problems, but quick support from Layer2 made a quick workaround.
  • Price 3.5
  • Deployment Time 4.5
  • Needs Met 4.5
  • Compatibility 4.5
  • Performance 4.5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

The answer to our SP / CRM / OData integration issues

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:Phillip_Sykes Reviewed on:12/17/2013

Pros
Very simple to set-up, plenty of example files. Able to connect to a variety of solutions and extremely flexible in its approach The occasional issue was answered extremely quickly by their technical support, all down to configuration / user error not software issues. Pricing was very attractive for the immediate benefits it could give back to our company systems It works, we don't have to trawl through code to make changes Being able to download for free a fully working trial was critical to our purchasing decision
Cons
Performance is acceptable rather than quick for the amount of records i'm inserting / updating (<1000 at a time). You may need to use an alternative approach for large data-sets.
Additional Comments
We are extremely pleased having adopted this solution. We have built all of our needs for system integration quickly and without spending a lot of money on third party integrator's / developers. We retain the knowledge in-house on how our systems are working which helps greatly for future expansion. All communications with Layer2 were quick, very professional and made the whole buying experience a much more relaxed and controlled process.
  • Price 4.5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4
  • Compatibility 4
  • Performance 4

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Good product

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:JNickell Reviewed on:12/10/2013

Pros
Helped us to get local SQL data to O365 environment, avoided scaling up to E3 plan to enable BDC connectivity and avoided the complexity of setting up BDC and the other pre-reqs to connect our SQL into Sharepoint.
Cons
Currently my attempts to Schedule the syncs are not working. I'm working with Layer2 to get this resolved. To this point they have been very responsive. -- Update -- Support was able to resolve the issue I was having. It amounted to starting and stopping the services nothing exceptionally gory
Additional Comments
I would recommend this product.
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4.5
  • Compatibility 4
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Promising tool for intra-to-extra content replication

  • 4.0
  • Overall Rating 4 stars

Reviewed by:Mika_Ahorinta Reviewed on:9/19/2013

Pros
Easy to install Features and benefits clear
Cons
Building the connection strings is not clear - e.g. authentication options and combinations are not trivial
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 3.5
  • Compatibility 4
  • Performance 3

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Layer 2 Cloud Connector Review

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Barry_Corkindale Reviewed on:9/16/2013

Pros
Nice tool to sync business data to Office 365. Relatively easy to setup.
Cons
Nothing to dislike yet other than a few bugs in the current release which are to be fixed in next release.
Additional Comments
I would recommend this product.
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Brilliant tool for replicating local files to Sharepoint Online library

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:MelanieCook Reviewed on:8/23/2013

Pros
This product has allowed us to synchronise files from a local folder to Office 365 allowing local staff to access via a network share all of the files located in the company sharepoint. We are running a bi-directional sync and the only problem I did have was a problem in my configuration, the assistance I received from Layer2 was outstanding! We are signing up as a partner and deploying to other clients using SharePoint Online.
Cons
Selecting the appropriate license was the hardest thing (and even then not too difficult). The rest of the process was nice and smooth.
  • Price 4.5
  • Deployment Time 4.5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 4.5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Good solution to connect a Personnal Geodatabase (ARCGIS) to sharepoint

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:MathieuSavoie Reviewed on:8/1/2013

Pros
- I like the simplicity of the product and the great support of the Layer2 team - The youtube video that show how the product work
Cons
- Nothing
  • Price 3.5
  • Deployment Time 4
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Great tool to sync LOB data with SharePoint Online (Office 365)

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:ITSN-Michiel Reviewed on:8/1/2013

Pros
Layer2 Cloud Connector provides for the shortcomings of Microsoft SharePoint (Business Connectivity Services). We've successfully managed to synchronize XML data from an LOB (line of business) application with SharePoint as SharePoint Online (Office 365) as well.
Cons
Connection strings aren't very clear to find out. We would like to see a connection string builder or likewise in the application. Otherwise some more examples would be great.
Additional Comments
If you are seeking a good and low-priced tool to integrate your LOB data with SharePoint: Layer2 Cloud Connector is the answer!
  • Price 3.5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 3.5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Works perfect as expected

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Avinash_kotapati Reviewed on:3/22/2013

Pros
Easy to use and works perfect. Like the syncing of filesystem to sharepoint library.
Cons
None
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Bringing the cloud a little closer

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Adam_OCallaghan Reviewed on:3/19/2013

Pros
Very easy setup and a good selection of connector types available to integrate on-premise data and cloud based Sharepoint. Allows for some very interesting capabilities if you allow it. Support is also quick to respond.
Cons
Having some trouble with the 'scheduling' but not sure if it's an MS Office365 issue or not.
Additional Comments
Great product and would highly recommend it. If you use Office365 Sharepoint and want some of the integration features enjoyed by companies running an on-premise version of Sharepoint then I would recommend trying this product.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Simple elegant tool to integrate SharePoint with all other data sources

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Sarada_Mohapatra Reviewed on:3/8/2013

Pros
Used cloud connector to sync on premise SP site with cloud SP site of vendor. The product requires no changes to SharePoint (actually have is installed an a VM with access to the Internet); is replication based, thus provides high performance.
Cons
None
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

The Missing Link

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:HarrisonH Reviewed on:3/7/2013

Pros
The tool is the missing link when it comes to SharePoint. This tool allows us to extend our current systems with the numerous features of SharePoint. We were able to get it deployed within minutes for syncing files, syncing current AS/400 DB2 databases, and more.
Cons
It would have been nice to have the connection builder for the SharePoint connector like they do for ODBC connections.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Great Tool for Sync'ing SharePoint with Office 365

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:achaaban Reviewed on:1/30/2013

Pros
This is an owesome tool that allowed us to sync SQL server and SharePoint (libraries and lists) data to Office 365 (SharePoint Online) with ease. We were also able to retrieve data from Active Directory into SQL Server in a snap. Their support team is amazingly fast responsive.
Cons
Nothing
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Awesome tool! Perfect for SharePoint Data integration

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:MarkPCTO Reviewed on:1/31/2012

Pros
This tool fills an open gap with SharePoint. Integrating real-time with external data sources, triggered by external data sources changing. And it's fully featured, working with every data source I've tried - Oracle, MS SQL, and others. Fully configurable for 1-minute to 1-day or longer cycle times, triggered workflows, only updating changed data. And it's really fast! A must-have for any SharePoint implementation, whether standalone 2010 or Office 365. You can't live without this tool!
Cons
Nothing.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Nice product - fills a gap!

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:dave_chenn Reviewed on:1/28/2012

Pros
This is a great product to help inetgrate data into your Office 365 apps. Try it out and you will see many uses for it.
Cons
Nothing.
  • Price 4.5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Quick to get up and running

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Ed-Richard Reviewed on:1/18/2012

Pros
It was easy to install, and a piece of cake to setup and try out - for free! Pain free experience and results within an hour after downloading. Highly recommend you try this product.
Cons
Getting started was difficult to find on web site, but got it in my inbox a few hours later when Germany woke up (I'm in Australia).
Additional Comments
All pu a great experience, can't wait to really get my hands dirty.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Submit A Review

The views and opinions submitted and expressed here are not those of Microsoft.