Microsoft Dynamics Labs

Customer Portal for Microsoft Dynamics CRM

by Microsoft Dynamics Labs

Customer Portal for Microsoft Dynamics CRM has an overall rating of 2.5 stars  from 18 customers.

Submit A Review

The views and opinions submitted and expressed here are not those of Microsoft.

Import error to CRM 2013

  • 2.0
  • Overall Rating 2 stars

Reviewed by:Setiaji Reviewed on:7/8/2014

Pros
I am sorry I could not say what I like here as I could not import to my CRM 2013
Cons
When I import to Dynamics CRM 2013 (6.0.0.809) (DB 6.0.0.809), info message window show me with statement like this : The solution file is invalid. The compressed file must contain the following files at its root: solutions.xml, customizations.xml, and[Content_Types].xml. Customization files exported from previous versions of Microsoft Dynamics CRM are not supported.
  • Price 2
  • Deployment Time 1.5
  • Needs Met 2
  • Compatibility 2
  • Performance 1.5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Causing my entire Org unable to be upgraded to CRM2013

  • 0.5
  • Overall Rating 0.5 stars

Reviewed by:SWAAA Reviewed on:2/7/2014

Pros
It was ok for testing
Cons
Too slow, too much work to get it install and going, unable to upgrade my entire org to CRM2013.
  • Price 0.5
  • Deployment Time 0.5
  • Needs Met 0.5
  • Compatibility 0.5
  • Performance 0.5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Try, try again, it will still fail.

  • 1.0
  • Overall Rating 1 star

Reviewed by:ProdGuy Reviewed on:8/22/2013

Pros
I like the concept of the portal, but given that after 3 weeks of attempting to deploy it, it still is not working - I can't say there is anything I like about it.
Cons
Documentation is lacking, out of date, and old. Scouring several threads in various boards, you find little things to try, here and there - none of them work. It is positioned as a simple deployment and great functionality. I can's speak to the great functionality, as the simple deployment failed.
Additional Comments
Invest the money to buy a supported portal that integrates into CRM - you're not going to get it here.
  • Price 4
  • Deployment Time 0.5
  • Needs Met 0.5
  • Compatibility 0.5
  • Performance 0.5

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Import of solution error!

  • 1.5
  • Overall Rating 1.5 stars

Reviewed by:Es_ Reviewed on:7/29/2013

Pros
N/A
Cons
N/A
Additional Comments
Can someone explain why the import of the zip file solution shoots an error of missing Solution.xml, customizations.xml,and [Content_Types].xml?
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 0.5
  • Needs Met 1
  • Compatibility 1
  • Performance 1

0% of 1 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Inactive URLs WebNotification

  • 3.0
  • Overall Rating 3 stars

Reviewed by:lahoriboy Reviewed on:4/18/2013

Pros
We are actually using a customized version.
Cons
We are actually using a customized version.
Additional Comments
Actually, I would like to report a bug in the Poratl. It does not ignore the INACTIVE URLs for Web Notification. So, if you have any INVALID Url, the web notification PLugin will crash even if the Url is INACTIVE. So, delete all your inactive Urls is probably the quick fix on our side. The Portal should ignore the inactive Urls altogether.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 1
  • Needs Met 3
  • Compatibility 3
  • Performance 2

0% of 1 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Terrible, Terrible, Terrible!

  • 0.5
  • Overall Rating 0.5 stars

Reviewed by:AssortedWires Reviewed on:10/4/2012

Pros
There is nothing to like about Customer Portal. It's free, but that's not a price worth paying.
Cons
At present it is impossible to complete the setup for this product. It is obsolete. VERY poor and inadequate and inaccurate documentation: https://live.azure.com does not exist, there are several inaccurate steps, or the steps themselves are difficult to understand because the context is missing. The Forum boards and FAQ are completely woeful and many questions remain unanswered. Those that are answered link to other pages which do not answer the questions asked.
Additional Comments
Waste of time, space, money, and effort. The product will not install with the instructions given.
  • Price 0.5
  • Deployment Time 0.5
  • Needs Met 0.5
  • Compatibility 0.5
  • Performance 0.5

78% of 9 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

This thing is like a virus!!!

  • 0.5
  • Overall Rating 0.5 stars

Reviewed by:truthvendor Reviewed on:8/23/2012

Pros
Web Authentication UI in the Contact entity is straight forward and potentially easy to train end users on.
Cons
Install documentation is incomplete. Importing the solution file to CRM 2011 will destroy any other sitemap customizations you have done previously. All header and footer form information is removed and added as a "Conflicts" tab. Managed entities force all elements to be visible in the sitemap even if that module isn't intended to be used. Uninstall is incomplete and leaves entity form ribbons in an unusable state requiring a complete uninstall/reinstall of the server. Even members of the ADX team admit this is "throw away code" that was just built as a proof of concept. This is NOT ready for deployment and should be pulled from the marketplace or have the solution be an unmanaged one since it isn't supported anyway!!
  • Price 0.5
  • Deployment Time 0.5
  • Needs Met 0.5
  • Compatibility 0.5
  • Performance 0.5

67% of 3 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Super smart Portal løsning

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:Matthijn Reviewed on:4/26/2012

Pros
Supersmart og nemt at tilpasse.
Cons
ingenting
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 5

50% of 6 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

An ideal solution

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:IsolatedStorage Reviewed on:3/16/2012

Pros
Its very simple, but with the flexibility to fit a number of requirements. I found the documentation very useful, the installation very straight forward and the end user application very easy to navigate, edit and customise. The code base is just standard Visual Studio solution development utilising the CRM SDK - no rocket science here!
Cons
Nothing
Additional Comments
If you have done any sort of CRM SDK development previously then you will find this solution equally as easy to customise. I have made my own additions to the Case pages and deployed them without any issues. I have even converted the security to use ASP.NET form security with a little help.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 4.5
  • Needs Met 4.5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 3.5

100% of 5 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Very Slow

  • 1.5
  • Overall Rating 1.5 stars

Reviewed by:FransLazuli Reviewed on:1/3/2012

Pros
Capability of CMS integrated with CRM
Cons
PERFORMANCE Lack of Documentation.
Additional Comments
Got it working but for some reason after opening the portal and click back and forward between pages the response time of a page load is on avarage about 40 secounds which is not an acceptable performance for a portal.
  • Price 2
  • Deployment Time 2
  • Needs Met 1.5
  • Compatibility 2.5
  • Performance 0.5

0% of 1 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

check the FAQ for updated instructions

  • 3.5
  • Overall Rating 3.5 stars

Reviewed by:AlexSirota Reviewed on:10/20/2011

Pros
Integrated into CRM
Cons
Very hard to install and get going
Additional Comments
You must read the FAQ because there are links to an updated set of docs there NOT included with the .cab files that you download.
  • Price 4.5
  • Deployment Time 1.5
  • Needs Met 3
  • Compatibility 4
  • Performance 4

100% of 1 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Duth

  • 3.5
  • Overall Rating 3.5 stars

Reviewed by:DutchCRM Reviewed on:4/20/2011

Pros
funtionality
Cons
Create new case doesn't seem to work with dutch CRM online. When is the final version due?
  • Price 4.5
  • Deployment Time 3.5
  • Needs Met 4
  • Compatibility 0.5
  • Performance 4

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

waste of time

  • 1.5
  • Overall Rating 1.5 stars

Reviewed by:nixaler Reviewed on:4/16/2011

Pros
nothing
Cons
deployment instructions are awful. I followed them step by step and the thing kept failing.
Additional Comments
Could not get past the website copy section. It kept failing to connect with CRM server. NO DOCUMENTATION for troubleshooting. WASTE OF TIME
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 0.5
  • Needs Met 0.5
  • Compatibility 0.5
  • Performance 0.5

25% of 8 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

this did not work for me

  • 0.5
  • Overall Rating 0.5 stars

Reviewed by:thepopehimself Reviewed on:3/24/2011

Pros
N/A
Cons
I could not get the project to load through the .sln file using Visual Studios 2010. I kept getting errors regarding: One or more projects in the solution were not loaded correctly. Please see the Output Window for details. Did anyone have the same issue?
  • Price 0.5
  • Deployment Time 0.5
  • Needs Met 0.5
  • Compatibility 0.5
  • Performance 0.5

38% of 8 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Installs very smoothly

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:Adhish_Gupta Reviewed on:3/10/2011

Pros
- Integrates smoothly with both CRM 2011 Online and on-premise. Deployment was quite easy - The source code is available for making customizations - The Windows Live Id authentication works quite neatly
Cons
- Lack of documentation about upgrading the customer portal from 4.0 to 2011 - Not sure if Windows Live Id is the best way to authenticate. I would have liked if there was something like a regular form authentication available too.
Additional Comments
Very useful offering.
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 4
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 4

0% of 0 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Customer Portal for Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2011

  • 5.0
  • Overall Rating 5 stars

Reviewed by:PeterAlvmo Reviewed on:3/10/2011

Pros
Strong and yet simple integration
Cons
Language support
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 5
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 5
  • Performance 4

33% of 3 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Customer Portal instlall with CRM 2011 Online with Azure

  • 4.5
  • Overall Rating 4.5 stars

Reviewed by:patander Reviewed on:3/7/2011

Pros
Works well and does what it is designed to do. Great way to allow access to CRM and improve a customer experience
Cons
Where I encountered issues: STEP 1 - Azure Installation Guide When importing the solution, I received a version error that the solution may not be compatible with this version of CRM • Proceed with the import and it seems to work fine STEP 3 - Azure Installation Guide When running the Website copy utility - websitecopy.exe • This is the first time you will use Device ID and Device Password • Just make one up and put it in 12-22 characters • Write it down • While running the copy utility, I was getting an error in the thrown by Microsoft.IdentityModel.dll o To resolve I did a search to find this DLL in the easiest way o Then copied it to the same directory location of the websitecopy.exe utility and it worked Other • Missing some logos in CRM Solution • When trying to login as a different user - Live Id has a great memory so you may need to try the following o Logout and clear browser cache o Right click IE and use private browsing
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 3
  • Needs Met 5
  • Compatibility 4
  • Performance 5

100% of 3 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

try

  • 3.5
  • Overall Rating 3.5 stars

Reviewed by:crmpepu Reviewed on:2/12/2011

Pros
Nice out of box customer portal, quite easy to deploy.
Cons
As it is a preview version, looks like developers forgot about other languages than English. Some functionality does work only with 1033 language.
Additional Comments
discussion in the developer's forum
  • Price 5
  • Deployment Time 4
  • Needs Met 3.5
  • Compatibility 4.5
  • Performance 0.5

100% of 2 people found the following review helpful. Did you? Yes or No | Report this review | Show Reply

Submit A Review

The views and opinions submitted and expressed here are not those of Microsoft.